Posted by: miriamjang | February 21, 2008

What to do When your Child Cheats on the gfcf Diet

Our poor Autistic kids are Autistic and yet, in some ways, they can be typical in some behaviours–such as wanting chocolates or Goldfish or other forbidden foods on the gfcf diet.

Last week, my Autistic son, Marky, who has become so social that he actually likes me to watch TV with him nowadays..so if I walk away to do the myriad chores, after just a few minutes, he will actually hunt me down and drag me back to watch TV with him ,did something that was quite puzzling to me. Marky dragged me downstairs to my computer and asked me to work on my computer. I sat at my computer for about 30 seconds, trying to figure out why he was doing that. By the time i got upstairs, he had already swallowed 2 chocolates found in my daughter’s computer room!

So what to do when accidents happen? The best thing to do is to give them 2 AFP Peptizide enzyme capsules made by Houston right away. I have a bottle at home, one at school with a note signed by a doctor (me) for permission to give it when necessary and one in the car. This enzyme can handle small amounts of casein and gluten–not a lot so you cannot give unlimited amounts of gluten or casein…..but it helps!

The second thing to do is to supply them with limited amounts of treats. These are especially importatn to send to school when other kids have birthday treats etc.

Here are some ideas for an earlier post I wrote:

1) There is a wonderful web-site with absolutely delicious foods which deliver anywhere in the US for $10.00

http://www.kinnikinnick.com/

2) There are also foods from Pamela,’s products :(ph:650-952-4546)

3) http://www.ener-g.com is excellent (ph: 800-331-5222)

4) Mrs Leeper’s Pasta http://www.mrsleeper.com

5) http://www.enjoylifefoodsd.com (888-50-ENJOY)

A good resource is: The gfcf Shopping Guide from: the gfcf Diet diet Support Group

e-mail: products@gfcfdiet.com

Of course, there is the cookbook by Lisa Lewis that is very good as well

Good luck! I have many personal recipes that I will also share with you when I find some time!

I also like to use the super blender call Vita-Mix to make my own rice flour or almond butter etc since then know that there is no gluten or casein in them for sure (phone: 1-800-848-2649)

Please remember that it is important not to cross-contaminate. Of the patients that I have treated with the DAN (Defeat Autism Now) protocol, the patients that have lost their diagnosis are the ones with parents who meticulously use a different toaster for the gfcf bread.I know that it is a pain, but unfortunately has to be done

Good luck and God bless!

Miriam Jang MD

http://www.miriamjangmd.com

https://miriamjang.wordpress.com/wp-admin/

PS Please don’t forget that a lot of our sweet Autistic kids cannot eat foods high in oxalates or phenols: a lot of fruits and vegetables are high in these. If you do feed your kids on these, try giving then Houston Enzymes : No Fenol at the same time to minimize the damage. Please e-mail me if you would like my attachments on foods high in oxalates and in phenols: miriamjangmd@comcast.net . Houston’s also has an enzyme call AFP Pepetizide which can help if a little bit of slip up with the gfcf diet occurs. I use 2 of these when there is a little contamination possible. So that is not to say to pig out on gluten and casein

On top of that, try to minimize food colors and additives because of Autistic kids inability to detoxify chemicals

lastly, don’t forget to keep sugars from all sources down to avoid the recurrence of yeast overgrowth

Good luck!

This is a medical disclaimer: Please remember that this not meant as medical advice but as a desire to share information. Please always implement treatments under medical supervision. We are cannot be held liable for any of this information.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

